New Year’s Posole (hominy & pork)

photo 1-2 photo 2-2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Recipe

(note takes a long time to make, approx. 2-3 hours)

Ingredients:

  • 1 can hominy (1 lb 13 oz can)
  • 2 large onions, chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 8 cups chicken stock
  • 2 tablespoons red chile sauce [plus add more to your bowl, as desired]
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 2 pounds pork roast or chops

8-10 servings

Tips from my kitchen: use a food processor to chop the onions finely (and quickly!); 1 teaspoon minced garlic equals 1 garlic clove

Directions:

Saute the onions and garlic in the oil in a pot for 6 to 8 minutes (or until onions are tender). Rinse the hominy. Add the hominy, 8 cups of chicken stock, red chile sauce, and oregano to the pot and put on low heat. Cut the pork into 1/2 once or smaller pieces. Add to the pot. Simmer, covered for 2-3 hours.

Memories

Posole is a New Year’s tradition in my family. You have to have posole for good luck for the new year in New Mexico; it’s like many people feel about blackeyed peas. My parents both grew up in New Mexico, where posole is common, which helps explain how it became part of our New Year’s celebrations. My mom makes it every New Year’s Eve and it’s delicious! I remember eating posole and tortillas pretty much every New Years Eve and then the following couple of days growing up and loving it!

Well I thought it would be a nice way to ring in 2014 as a newly married couple, bringing some of my family traditions to our new little family. So, I made posole for the first time this year. Now normally he’s not a huge fan of soups or things that are too spicy, so I thought I’d get an average reaction – but he loved it and was impressed! It wasn’t too spicy and had great flavor! I tend to like my food a little on the spicy side so I added spoonfuls of the red chile sauce to my bowl of posole, which was great. Talk about starting the new year right!

When we were visiting my family recently my parents were reminiscing, and apparently my grandfather used to make great red chile sauce to go with posole. Maybe next year I might even try my hand at that! Either way, I look forward to making posole one of our family traditions as we ring in the new year.

 

What are some of your favorite New Year’s recipes and traditions? Please comment and share! 

Leave a Reply

